Italy Travel Guide | Val d'Asota Region


Val d'Aosta sits in the north-western corner of Italy, bordering with Switzerland (north) and France (west). To the east and south it borders with the Piedmont Region.  The Aosta Valley was part of the Piedmont Region until 1948, then it became an autonomous region with a special statute. The Valle d'Aosta is the smallest region in the Italian Republic and is also the most thinly populated, with the lowest population density.

Val d'Aosta Region

In the region are the highest peaks in the Alps: Monte Cervino, Monte Rosa, Gran Paradiso and the king of them all, Mont Blanc, which at 15,781 feet is the highest mountain in Europe, the roof of the old Continent. Those who are not familiar with mountaineering can use the comfortable, yet thrilling, cable car; catch it just a few miles from Courmayeur, one of the most important ski resorts in the world.

Val D'Aosta Region
Val D'Aosta Region
Val D'Aosta Region

Historically, the Aosta Valley has been viewed as boundary link between Italy and France; this is reflected in its official bilingualism and its special status as autonomous region. The great modern tunnels of Gran San Bernardo and more so those under Mont Blanc, are extraordinary engineering masterpieces that connect to France and made easier the interaction between Italy and the rest of Europe.

In this setting of stately mountains and diverse valleys sits the oldest National Park, the Gran Paradiso, where it is still possible to see animals in their natural habitat - ibex, chamois, eagles and marmots live in vegetation that changes according to the surrounding environment.

Provinces of the Region

Val D'Aosta Region

Top Outdoor Activities in the Val d'Asota Region

In the Alps of the Aosta Valley you can find great hiking, climbing, and skiing though out the region.

Classic Bike Climbs Asota Valley

Rock Climbing Asota Valley

Hiking Aosta

Where to Visit in the Val d'Aosta Region

follow us


Guide to Outdoor Recreation


Travel Guide to Italy