Vicenza Province in the Veneto Region

Vicenza Province of Veneto

The Province of Vicenza (Provincia di Vicenza) is considered the heart of the Veneto region. The capital of the province is the PLACES TO VISIT IN THE VICENZA PROVINCE. The province has an area of 2,723 sqr km, and a total population of 840,000 (as of 2006). There are 121 townships (municipalities) in the province, due to the historical fragmentation of the territory (the highest in the Veneto) . Important towns in the province include Bassano del Grappa, Montecchio Maggiore, Torri di Quartesolo, Schio, Noventa Vicentina, ThieneMarostica, Lonigo, Arzignano, Asiago and Valdagno.

Unlike other provinces in the region of Veneto it is fairly mountainous with several peaks over two thousand metres above sea level, the most noteable being Mount Grappa and Mount Novegno. The Brenta Canal also runs right through the province of Vicenza. Population is unevenly spread throughout the province. More than 60% of the populace resides in densely industrialised areas in the eastern, western, and northern (known as Alto Vicentino) industrial zones, as well as the area surrounding Bassano del Grappa. The remaining 40% reside in predominantly rural ares in the southern part of the province (the Colli Berici and Basso Vicentino) or the Asiago plateau.



Vicenza Province, Veneto Region

Villa Palladio, Vicenza Province

Marostica, Vicenza Province

Bike Touring Vicenza Province

What to do in the Vicenza Province

Bicycle touring, mountain biking, hiking, rock climbing, and ski and snowboarding are the main outdoor recreation activities, but you could also cross country ski, para sail, cave, and kayak. Combine these activities with visiting Palladio villa's, walled cities, wine producers, and industrial complex's and you have a great vacation destination.

Cities | Towns | Villages in the Vicenza Province

Travel Tips and Things to Know

follow us


Guide to Outdoor Recreation


Travel Guide to Italy